funder-graph

FundersME

Grants paid by Margaret W Soule Charitable Trust

EIN 01-6168256 · Portland, ME · Form 990-PF, Part XV · NTEE T90

Margaret W Soule Charitable Trust of Portland, ME (EIN 01-6168256) reported 91 grants paid totaling $842,000 to 16 recipients in tax years 2018–2025, on Form 990-PF, Part XV. Derived from IRS e-file data, dataset version 2026.09.0, built 2026-09-03.

Grants paid

$842,000

91 grants

Recipients

16

distinct organizations

Tax years

2018–2025

7 filings in the corpus

By tax year

Grants by tax year, as the same figures
Tax yearGrants paidAmount paidApproved for future
201813$90,000
202013$99,000
202113$126,000
202213$126,000
202313$126,000
202413$133,000
202513$142,000

Top recipients

The 16 recipients receiving the most from Margaret W Soule Charitable Trust, by grants paid, out of 16 distinct recipients.

Recipients ranked by total grants paid
RecipientMatchLocationGrantsTotal paidLatest year
Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland 01-0212541CWestbrook, ME7$94,0002025
Wayfinder Schools 01-0217639CNew Gloucester, ME7$94,0002025
Preble Street 01-0418917CPortland, ME7$94,0002025
Maine Coast Heritage Trust 23-7099105BTopsham, ME7$74,5002025
Dempsey CenterUAuburn, ME5$73,0002025
Waynflete School 01-0211565BPortland, ME7$54,6002025
Maine Preservation 01-0319524BYarmouth, ME7$54,6002025
Riding to the Top 01-0482069BWindham, ME7$54,6002025
Hospice of Southern Maine 01-0540180BScarborough, ME7$51,6002025
Middlebury College 03-0179298BMiddlebury, VT7$39,5002025
Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute 46-1398374CPortland, ME7$39,5002025
Maine Recovery Fund Attn DirectorUPortland, ME5$39,0002023
Smith College 51-0202403CBoston, MA4$21,5002022
Dempsey Center Attn Development DirectorUAuburn, ME2$21,0002020
United Recovery Fund 81-5459058BPortland, ME2$18,6002025
Smith College - the Smith FundUNorth Hampton, MA3$18,0002025

Match tier: A Reported EIN · B Exact name and place · C Strong name match · D Probable name match · U Unresolved. Tiers C and D are inferred, not reported; see how matching works.

Every grant

All 91 grant rows this organization reported, most recent first.

Grants reported by Margaret W Soule Charitable Trust
Tax yearRecipientMatchAmountTypePurposeSource filing
2025Preble Street Portland, MEC$16,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$16,000paidEDUCATION202601279349100835
2025Dempsey Center Auburn, MEU$16,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEB$16,000paidGENERAL202601279349100835
2025Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$10,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025United Recovery Fund Portland, MEB$9,600paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Waynflete School Portland, MEB$9,600paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$9,600paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$9,600paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$9,600paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$6,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202601279349100835
2025Smith College - the Smith Fund North Hampton, MAU$6,500paidGENERAL202601279349100835
2025Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$6,500paidEDUCATION202601279349100835
2024Preble Street Portland, MEC$15,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$15,000paidEDUCATION202511329349101676
2024Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEB$15,000paidGENERAL202511329349101676
2024Dempsey Center Auburn, MEU$15,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$10,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$9,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$9,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Waynflete School Portland, MEB$9,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024United Recovery Fund Portland, MEB$9,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$9,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$6,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202511329349101676
2024Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$6,000paidEDUCATION202511329349101676
2024Smith College - the Smith Fund North Hampton, MAU$6,000paidGENERAL202511329349101676
2023Preble Street Portland, MEC$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Dempsey Center Auburn, MEU$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$14,000paidEDUCATION202401229349102215
2023Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEB$14,000paidGENERAL202401229349102215
2023Maine Recovery Fund Attn Director Portland, MEU$11,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Waynflete School Portland, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Smith College - the Smith Fund North Hampton, MAU$5,500paidGENERAL202401229349102215
2023Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2023Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$5,500paidEDUCATION202401229349102215
2023Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202401229349102215
2022Preble Street Portland, MEC$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Dempsey Center Auburn, MEU$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$14,000paidEDUCATION202301309349102585
2022Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEC$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Maine Recovery Fund Attn Director Portland, MEU$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Waynflete School Portland, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2022Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$5,500paidEDUCATION202301309349102585
2022Smith College Boston, MAC$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202301309349102585
2021Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEC$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$14,000paidEDUCATION202231329349101618
2021Preble Street Portland, MEC$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Dempsey Center Auburn, MEU$14,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Maine Recovery Fund Attn Director Portland, MEU$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Waynflete School Portland, MEB$8,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$5,500paidEDUCATION202231329349101618
2021Smith College Boston, MAC$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2021Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202231329349101618
2020Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEC$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Dempsey Center Attn Development Director Auburn, MEU$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Preble Street Portland, MEC$11,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$11,000paidEDUCATION202111239349101446
2020Waynflete School Portland, MEB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Maine Recovery Fund Attn Director Portland, MEU$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$5,500paidEDUCATION202111239349101446
2020Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Smith College Boston, MAC$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2020Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$5,500paidGENERAL PURPOSE202111239349101446
2018Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland Westbrook, MEC$10,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Dempsey Center Attn Development Director Auburn, MEU$10,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Wayfinder Schools New Gloucester, MEC$10,000paidEDUCATION201921299349101682
2018Preble Street Portland, MEC$10,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Maine Coast Heritage Trust Topsham, MEB$10,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Smith College Boston, MAC$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Maine Preservation Yarmouth, MEB$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Olympia Snowe Womens Leadership Institute Portland, MEC$5,000paidEDUCATION201921299349101682
2018Waynflete School Portland, MEB$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Middlebury College Middlebury, VTB$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Hospice of Southern Maine Scarborough, MEB$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Riding to the Top Windham, MEB$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682
2018Maine Recovery Fund Attn Director Portland, MEU$5,000paidGENERAL PURPOSE201921299349101682

Match tier: A Reported EIN · B Exact name and place · C Strong name match · D Probable name match · U Unresolved. Tiers C and D are inferred, not reported; see how matching works.

Recipient matching for this dataset version has not yet completed its independent precision check. Tier A rows carry the EIN the filer reported; tiers B–D are the matcher's inference and should be read as leads until the check is published on the methodology page.

Source filings

Every figure above is traceable to one of these IRS e-file returns by its OBJECT_ID.

Returns this page is derived from
FormTax yearPeriod endFiledSchemaIRS OBJECT_ID
990PF20252025-12-31not stated2025v4.1202601279349100835
990PF20242024-12-31not stated2024v5.1202511329349101676
990PF20232023-12-31not stated2023v5.0202401229349102215
990PF20222022-12-31not stated2022v5.0202301309349102585
990PF20212021-12-31not stated2021v4.1202231329349101618
990PF20202020-12-31not stated2020v4.0202111239349101446
990PF20182018-12-31not stated2018v3.0201921299349101682

Derived from IRS Form 990-PF e-file XML; recipient identities from the IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File. Dataset version 2026.09.0, built 2026-09-03. The same rows as Parquet: manifest; as JSON: /api/funders/016168256.json.

The same organization elsewhere in the program: exempt status and filing health · federal awards · grant guidance · open opportunities.

This is informational only, derived from public data on the dates shown. It is not an eligibility determination, and not legal, tax, or accounting advice. Verify against the official source before relying on it.